Spey Tenné 46% abv.

Having been reintroduced to the Speyside Distillery by Paul Dempsey and following on from my around the world blog, plus my previous reviews of expressions from them. I thought it would only be right to carry on with my adventure through the range.

20170703_214401

The Tenné is one of the Latin range of expressions from the distillery, being introduced in the summer of 2014 it is a limited release of 18,000 bottles. Tenné is Latin for Twany, with this expression being initially matured in bourbon casks before spending six months finishing in a freshly emptied twany port cask. This gives the malt it’s distinctive rosé colour, which in my opinion when combined with the the stylish bottle that Speyside use makes it stand out from the crowd.

So it looks great and stylish but how does it taste.

Nose: Initially sweet with lots of fruit, grape, plum, Seville oranges, soft earthy honey note, as it opens chocolate and sweet spice heading towards cinnamon..

Palate: The rich fruit is present instantly,  Seville oranges, sweet peaches, Muscat grapes, a gentle stem ginger note follows with a hint of oak, some rich 80% dark chocolate making this very moreish.

Finish: Dry with a rich fruit and spice lasting to the end, quite long and very pleasant. 

20170703_215549

Well this hasn’t disappointed, it’s a beautiful multi layered dram that is making me want to find more Port finished malts out. This is another fine expression from the Speyside distillery, with the quality I’ve had from them so far they are definitely becoming my Speyside malt of choice. The ones I’ve tried from their range have been excellent quality and are in my opinion great value for money ( it might be a little shallow but they look so much more expensive than what they are).

20170703_214512

Just of late I’m really finding that the Port finish is giving me that ideal balance between the bourbon and sherry casks. I think if you get a real good one, it gives you all the fruit you’d want from a sherry cask with the sweetness of a bourbon cask. This is one of those good ones if you ask me, a malt that can go with any occasion and a must try.

Sláinte..

Leave a Reply

