Tomatin 1995 Limted Edition 46% abv.

Tomatin have released some quite impressive limted expressions over the past few months, I’ve also been quite lucky to get my hands on most of them. With my visit to the distillery at the end of October I picked up a few more of the recent releases, with the 1995 limited edition bottling being one of them.

This was distilled on the 16th of June 1995 with an initial maturation in traditional oak casks, before being transferred to Oloroso Sherry hogshead on the 15th of May 2013. With just over another 3 years maturing in the hogshead before being bottled on the 1st August 2016 at 46% abv in the new style of packaging from Tomatin, with just 1,912 bottles being released world wide it looks and feels like a very expensive addition to my collection.

So I opened this special bottle to celebrate the life of a Lady who influenced my life in such an amazing and positive way. It’s been seven years since my mother in law passed from cancer, she was such a lovely lady and an angel to anyone in need. She was also one of the main people who encouraged me to change my career, which has led to me doing this blog and working on my dreams to be working within the industry some how (hopefully with my own shop).

So let me get back to the expression I chose,

Nose: The first note is a rich treacle toffee, subtle dried fruits, after some time in the glass a marzipan almond note starts to emerge, with some sweet plums and apricots underneath, towards the end a gentle anise spice and beeswax hint make themselves felt . .

Palate: Lots of red fruits, red currents, cranberries, plums, lovely rich honey, the sherry influence is subtle, some oak spice comes through, with time a hint of dark chocolate and fresh ground coffee emerge with a creamy mouth feel . .

Finish: The finish is medium in length with a lovely warm spice staying to the end, very moreish . .

Tomatin have done it again with this limited expression, it is of the outstanding quality that I have come to expect from them. It is very complex dram with so many layers to it, so smooth it feels like it should cost three times what it does. I know I’m a little biased when it comes to the Tomatin distillery but I do highly recommended you should try this if you get the opportunity, I’d even go as far as to say this is in the running for the best dram I’ve had this year. That is not something I say lightly when I look at the drams I’ve had this year (50yo Strathisla, 58yo Mortlach). 

So I’ll pour another dram and have a quiet toast and say thank you to my mother in law, you may no longer be with us but you are still influencing the lives of those that mattered to you.

Sláinte. 

Leave a Reply

