Benromach Organic 2008 43% abv

It was August 2014 after visiting family in Scotland, on the drive back down to Yorkshire. I decided to stop in Edinburgh to do a bit of last minute shopping, I had one shop in particular that I wanted to visit. So as my wife wondered from shop to shop browsing, we steadily made our way up the Royal mile heading for The Royal Mile whiskies shop. I was wanting to pick up a specific bottle that I’d had my eye on for a few weeks, they were the only shop I’d been in contact with that had it in stock.
Like a kid in a sweet shop when I entered, my single mindedness was seriously put to the test. I’m glad to say it failed I didn’t buy the bottle I had originally intended to purchase, instead I was introduced to a malt I’d never tried before.
While I was browsing the shelves looking for my original purchase choice, I was approached by a very helpful young gentleman asking if he could help. Now I thought he was one of the staff from the shop, so started to tell him what I was looking for which he found very quickly for me. We then began to chat about our whisky loves and hates, after about ten minutes chatting away I apologised for keeping him from dealing with the queue of customers that was at the counter waiting to be served. That’s when he told me he didn’t work for the shop but worked for Gordon & Macphail, he was here promoting Benromach single malt.
Now I’d never tried Benromach so asked about the distillery and the different expressions  in the range. 30 minutes later I’d tried two different expressions and was paying for two bottles, neither of which was my original intended purchase. I left with a Benromach 10yr and a bottle of Highland Park from the Macphail’s collection. I’m sorry that I can’t remember the young gents name, how ever I can say that he Introduced me to single malt  that I have loved and I always have a bottle on my shelf.

image

Benromach Organic expression intrigued me with it being the only malt to be certified 100% organic,  so when I came across a bottle on a day trip it was a easy purchase to make.
Anyway enough over my waffling and on with the tasting.

Nose: The first thing I noticed is how complex this malt is, very soft smoke (almost whispering), some oak with a floral note, rich honey, some banana and a butterscotch hint. The more time I spent with this the more complex and pleasing it became.

Palate: First comes some oak and a pepper hit, some ripe banana, then comes the rich honey with some citrus notes, orange peel, with a bit of time some creamy chocolate starts to emerge, all the time there’s a malty undertone and towards the end a little bit of coffee as well.

Finish: The finish is quite long with that pepper and wood staying right till the end, even with the pepper it’s a lovely smooth finish.

This is quite a different malt to the 10yr old, it has something that I can’t quite put my finger on that makes it stand out. It is a malt that you can’t help but sit back and enjoy, being thankful that G&M decided to take the time to produce something this good.
I’ve talked to representatives and watched the videos from Benromach, you can see the passion they have for what they do. This comes across in what they produce as well, some quality malts that they should be proud of. A great reflection of there passion and commitment.
Sláinte.

Leave a Reply

