Tullibardine Sovereign 43% abv

Now I’ve had a bit of a hard time of over the past week or so getting some quality time to spend with any malt, so when I got some spare time to do a tasting I decided it had to be Tullibardine Sovereign. I’ve been a fan of the Tullibardine distillery for a long time, but it’s been a while since I’ve tried one of there expressions.
Sovereign is the entry NAS single malt from the distillery, it has won a few awards for its quality not just in the quality of the malt but also for its outstanding package design. I must admit that I really like the packaging, it has a very contemporary feel that doesn’t ignore the heritage the distillery has.

image

I will say that the time I’ve spent with this has been very relaxing, so on with the tasting.

Nose: The nose on this is fresh and light, I get a crisp barley note with vanilla, underneath this is a soft pear coming through all complemented by each other.

Taste: First comes the creamy fudge with a gentle coco hint, the soft pear is present as is a marzipan note, I also get a sweet floral note I just can’t quite pin down with a little spice.

Finish: The finish is medium in length, with a lovely clean sweet soft spice and subtle oak to remind you about this single malt.

What can I say about this malt, well I can tell you it has inspired me to try the rest of the Tullibardine range again. This is a malt that has a high standard and it’s quality like Tomatin Legacy, stands as a quality marker for how NAS whiskies should be done. Fresh and balanced with a promise that savouring on a lovely summers day is the way to enjoy, one that I would highly recommend.
I look forward to the next encounter with a Tullibardine single malt ( I think the 228 maybe ).
Sláinte.

2 Replies to “Tullibardine Sovereign 43% abv”

Leave a Reply

