How many is to many?

Over the past 12 months or so I’ve collected a few bottles of whisky. I moved my DVD/blu-ray colection of the book shelf and the bottles and accessories on to it.
Now I have a very understanding wife who just leaves me to get on with things in general, but with my last purchases I get the feeling I’m pushing the limit.
Now this is not the limit on how many bottles I can own, more that to expand my knowledge I’ve tried most of them. This is where I feel I’m pushing the limit, do I have too many opened bottles.
I’m not a big drinker but do enjoy a wee dram, but most of the time this is just one and not every night.
So now I’ve got a lot of bottles in various stages of emptiness, some with probably only a few drinks left in them.
In my rush to try new and different whisky expressions I’ve not really spent any quality time with a single one. So if I look at this from the point of view of my wife I think maybe I’ve reached that limit. She’s been very understanding about my quest for knowledge, but I must admit I’ve gone about it in a bit of a  haphazard way. Moving from one bottle to the next without any real structure to how I do tasting notes, never really spending more than a couple of drinks at a time with one bottle. Yes I’ll go back to a bottle and add to my notes but it could be months apart.
Perhaps now it’s time to sit back and enjoy, after all the whisky has been years in maturing for my enjoyment. It would be rude of me not to spend that quality time with each one and build up the anticipation for the next experience. That doesn’t mean I’ll stop purchasing just that I’ll wait before I open it to make sure it gets my full attention and the quality time it deserves.
Sláinte.

5 Replies to “How many is to many?”

  1. I’ll bear this in mind as I continue along this journey. I want far more than I can hope to afford right now but I can see how you can quickly build up a collection.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I too find myself in the same situation, but I have found a solution that may be of help. With a surplus of bottles holding perhaps a dram or two at most, I suggest trying your hand at vatting. Find a couple of flavours that you feel might compliment each other. Recently I married a Deanston 12 with a Laphroaig Quarter Cask at a 50/50 ration. The effect was quite nice with the honey notes of the Deanston complimenting the sweet smokiness of the QC. Not only has it created shelf space and created something new and unique, it has emboldened me to try further vattings. Go ahead, make the leap! You may be pleasantly surprised!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

