Lakes Distillery & The One

As professor Hubert J. Farnsworth says Great news everyone!! (sorry I couldn’t resist), but it was great news for me today. I received my certificate for the Lakes distillery founders club, This was a big leap for me, to join a distillery that has not released malt whisky yet.

image

I think it started with my eagerness to expand my experiences within the whisky world, to try different approaches to what I had thought whisky had to be.
In the March 2015 issue of the whisky magazine, I read an article about the Lakes distillery and was intrigued by some of the ideas they were talking about.
It was mainly the ideas about experimentation with casks of different wood types, using chestnut, acacia and maple and not just oak as is the law in Scottish single malt I believe. Also the idea that they could insert new staves into the barrels as compass box did with the original spice tree. This idea of experimentation and seeing what flavor profile came out of it just grabbed my attention.
So I went and found out a little more about them and started to think about the founders club. I was really taken by the idea of following the development of a malt whisky over the first 10 years of its life. So after much deliberation the wife took it out of my hands and bought me the membership, so now all I can do is sit back and wait for the first bottle to turn up.
This is going to be a long and very interesting journey, one that I am looking forward to very much.
Next spring does seem so far away and to help me get through this period, I decided to try the blend the Lakes have created called The One.

image

The bottle is a nice clean simple design small and solid.
I get faint hint of smoke followed by a rich honey note. Then comes the light fruit and spice hit on the nose.
In the mouth I get sweet fruit and honey followed by a little pepper note, with the faint hint of smoke and oak coming in at the end.
The finish is not too long but doesn’t vanish straight away leaving a pleasant aftertaste.
Over all I think this is a great dram and one of the best blends I’ve had in a long time.
After having this experience with The One blend, it has filled me with confidence in what will come from the single malt when it’s released. Also it’s made me impatient and I would love to try it now.
Sláinte

Leave a Reply

